The POWER UP Workout for Fast Muscle Growth and Lean Abs


Ever heard of the saying, “You’re just running in place”? There’s one thing I constantly see in the gym which epitomizes this.  In their efforts to develop a tight, toned body and lean abs, well-meaning guys and girls are cranking out hundreds of crunches, sit-ups, and all variations imaginable.  While these core movements have their place, they most certainly should not be the centerpiece of your core workout.

The secret to a nice set of lean abs and an overall fit body, is by challenging muscles with progressive loads while also shedding body fat.  Luckily, increasing the load you’re lifting can help with both goals.  Today, I want to give you a workout I’ve been personally using for years.  It’s not an ab specific workout, but it’s helped me develop my own core better than anything else I’ve ever tried.  The concepts are simple, but profound.  Stick with this lean muscle mass plan and I’d almost guarantee you’re going to notice changes within four to six weeks.

Lean Abs Without Direct Ab Work?

Like I mentioned above, to get a truly lean body and noticeable abs, you’re going to have to reduce body fat; this means cardio.  For today’s article, we’ll assume you’ve got this part covered and focus strictly on the strength aspects.  The focus of this workout is both lifting progressively heavier loads AND maintaining a quick pace while you do so.  Not an easy task, but, a task worth striving for because this is where the real benefits of the workout come in.  In addition, our heavy exercises are going to be full-body, compound lifts.  The compound nature of these lifts is going to secondarily target your abs.  But because we’re pushing ourselves with heavy weights, that secondary targeting will be a enough to give you a serious core workout and develop those lean abs.

When you push yourself to lift heavy, you tax your system.  When you push yourself to work fast, you tax your system.  When you do both at the same time, you rev up into the metabolic zone and exponentially increase your fat burning capacity.  You’re also building better, stronger muscles by way of the heavier loads.  This one is going to be a win-win all around.

The workout is relatively simple, you’re going to do two standard exercises aiming to fatigue around the 10 rep range.  On the third exercise, you’re going to bump the load and shoot for 4-5 reps.  This may not seem like much, but if you’re jumping up in weight appropriately, it’ll be more than enough to serve its purpose.

After these three exercise combos, you take a 60 second rest break, then go right back to it.  We’re going to cycle through several combos for one entire round.  Repeat the round 4-5x for a full 45-minute workout.

 

The POWER UP Workout

So check it out, here’s The POWER UP Workout…

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The POWER UP Workout for Fast Muscle Growth and Lean Abs”

  1. Hi Matt, I was wondering if I could get someone to help me with receiving the blog posts to my email again? The posts stopped coming through my email after I recreated my account for the launch of the Share It Fitness 2.0. I have checked my junk folder and the posts are not going in there. I have had this happen in the past and I ended up deleting my account and creating a new one, that must have reset something because I started to receive the blog posts to my email again. I do not see a way to do this in my account settings anymore. I have emailed the blog support twice and I also sent you an email and I have not gotten any responses, so possibly my account is not corresponding with you guys correctly and you are not receiving any emails. I have tried to enter my email in the “Evolve Your Inbox” box on the blog post home page and I get an error message of, “Oops something went wrong, please try again later.” If you could send me in the right direction of who might be able to help me with this, that would be great. I really look forward to receiving yours and other authors blog posts in my email, as I use all the different workouts on here quite frequently. Thanks for your time. My email: cfbowtech6@gmail.com

  2. Can you please explain this workout further?
    Do I do the first 3 exercises, rest 60 secs then repeat same 3 exercises for 4-5 rounds then move onto the next etc OR move onto the 2nd, 3rd and 4th groups then repeat the whole group of 4 again 4-5 times?

Leave a Reply

