The Fat-Fightin’-Muscle-Buildin’-At-Home Body Weight Workout


If you’re anything like me, there are definitely some days you absolutely, positively do not want to go to the gym.  No matter what, you just can’t get yourself to go.  A workout would still be nice, but having to jump in the car, drive over, deal with parking, all that nonsense…it’s just not happening.

For the longest time, I was adverse to at home body weight workouts.  For whatever the reason, most likely a mental hang-up, I needed to lift something heavy to feel like I’d really gotten a good workout.  If my strength workout included anything else, I pretty much felt like I was just wasting my time – which meant I just wasn’t going to do it.

Over the years, I got a little more informed about the benefits of body weight training.  Just the other day, I posted about isometric strength training.  Briefly, this is the concept of training your muscles by flexing without contracting.  Like doing a push up, stopping half way, and just holding.  The muscle really starts to burn, right?

After all, gymnasts are some of the most ripped up people on the planet, and what are they doing?  Tons of body weight/isometric training.  If it works for them, why can’t it work for us more “normal” people?

I got a little side-tracked there, but in any event, I really started playing around with body weight training a few years back.  I borrowed some ideas here, and there, created some of my own moves, and after a while, got pretty hooked on the whole concept.

So after that whole spiel, today’s workout is a total body, body weight routine, designed for those days you just don’t want to go to the gym, but still want a killer workout that’s going to help tear up those muscles and even give you a nice caloric burn. For most of you guys, you’re in the jaws of winter right now, and leaving your cozy living room for the soulless gym is always a challenge when its below freezing outside.

Our body weight focused workout is going to utilize a series of exercises, performed in order.  This is a timed workout, completed for max rounds, so take rest breaks whenever you feel you need them. I want you to set a timer for 35 minutes, or just watch the clock, and like I mentioned, knock out as many rounds of this workout as possible.  My personal best is 11 rounds; give this one a shot and see how many you can take down before time is up.

Given the format, this actually turns into a pretty awesome challenge workout you can come back to down the road.  Try throwing this workout into your workout program once a week or so, and see how much you progress.  Believe me when I tell you, it’s as much muscular as it is endurance.  If you’re really pushing yourself to complete as many rounds as possible, there’s no way you don’t really get that heart-pumping, sweat-dripping burn that’s great for shedding excess body fat and tightening up.

I’m really proud of this one, so give it a go, and be sure to post your results, questions, comments, and anything else you might have in the comments below.

16 Spider Planks

14 Push Up/Dip Turnovers

12 Hip Ups

10 Prisoner Squats

8 Hindu Push Ups

6 Eagle Sit Ups

4 Reverse Lunges (per leg)

2 Explosion Jumps

Rest, repeat, max out.

