Can Yoga Help Me Lose Weight?


Often times, we have a lot of really great thoughts run through our head.  On paper, most of us are pretty logical creatures.  We know what we should be doing when it comes to our health and fitness.  The problem is, should be doing and actually doing are quite often world’s apart.

Let’s take something a lot of us have probably pledged to start doing at one time or another; yoga.  I don’t know about you, but I struggled for the longest time to get consistent with my yoga practice.  I’d go through bursts of yoga dedication, but watch my strength and/or cardio training slack.  Then, I’d over compensate and wouldn’t see the inside of a yoga studio for months at a time.

Anyone else in a similar boat?  Have you thought about doing yoga for a while now, but just can’t get consistent?  Well, if you haven’t you absolutely should start thinking about incorporating yoga into your fitness life.  Yoga has numerous benefits, not least of which are its ability to improve flexibility and…drum roll….help you lose weight.  Yes, yoga can significantly help you lose weight.  Yoga will help you lean out, tone up, slim down…whatever you want to call it.  It has a remarkable ability to change your body like few other forms of training.  The only problem is, you’ve got to do it consistently to achieve these benefits.

How Yoga Helps you Lose Weight

Before we get into how you can become more consistent with your yoga practice, lets dive into the real reason everyone is here today: how can yoga help me lose weight?

First and foremost, yoga absolutely can help you lose weight.  This 2005 study which looked at the physical activity habits of 15,500 middle-aged men and women found a remarkable coincidence amongst participants practicing yoga.  Those with a consistent yoga practice lost an average of five pounds over the study period, while non-yoga goers gained 14 pounds.

Have you ever looked at the body of someone who practices yoga regularly?  Often times, they’ve got a narrow waist line, appearing quite lean, with definition in their arms, shoulders, and back muscles.  Simply put, they just LOOK healthy.  One of the key elements yoga training introduces you to is isometric strength training.  To put things in context, doing a bicep curl with a dumbbell is a form of concentric training.  The muscle shortens as it contracts.  Isometric training on the other hand, allows the muscle to contract without shortening.  This type of training has been scientifically proven to deliver big muscle gains, which in turn are going to help raise metabolism, causing you to burn more calories and lean out faster.

So let that one sink in for a minute.  You thought the only way to get that tight and toned look was by lifting heavy weights, huh? Well, that’ll certainly help, but it’s definitely not the only way to go about things.  As always, it’s good to have a well-rounded plan and mix and match your physical activity.  By introducing yoga and the isometric strength component that it brings, you’re going to be well on your way to that well-rounded fitness program.

Tear Down The Wall

Let’s now revisit our little problem from earlier; how are you supposed to realize the weight loss benefits of yoga if you can’t even get consistent with your practice?  For most people, getting consistent with yoga usually means going to a studio, paying $10-20 per class, feeling a little out-of-place, and generally never getting into the swing of things.  The key to yoga consistency, at least for me, was eliminating as many obstacles as possible.  By putting as few barriers between me and my yoga practice, I was able to get the consistency I wanted, and in turn, take my body and health to an entirely new level.

Today, I want to share with you what has worked so well for me.  The Muscle & Flow Yoga Series, designed by Bay Area fitness all-star, Shauna Harrison, has been my savior.  This five-class series is nearly five full hours of yoga lessons, exactly as you’d find them in your favorite yoga studio.  For me, this was the solution to all my problems.  I could literally click a button, put a full-length yoga lesson on the TV screen, and be led through an entire yoga routine by a well-known yoga instructor.  I found the number of lessons  in this series was just right; it kept me interested without leaving me feeling overwhelmed.

Check out this quick preview of one class from this five-part series…

Get started with Shauna’s five-part Muscle & Flow yoga series today

The ability to throw a full-length yoga lesson on your TV screen means you don’t have to pay for each yoga class you attend. You don’t have to get in your car and drive 20 minutes to the yoga studio after work.  You don’t have to flop around in front of 30 “regulars” as you start your yoga practice. Yoga in an OnDemand fashion allows you to incorporate this wildly beneficial form of training into your life whenever, and wherever, you want.

For me, this was what finally allowed me to get regular with my yoga training.  As I’ve built skill and confidence, I do find myself going to a local yoga studio from time to time. I do enjoy the variety, but I always find myself coming back to Shauna’s Muscle & Flow yoga series as my go-to.

Start Dropping those Pounds Today

If you’re on the fence…just do it.  The investment you make in yourself by dedicating your time and resources to a full-time yoga practice, are going to pay dividends down the line.  If you’re struggling to lose those last few pounds, give yoga a shot.  I can’t tell you how many people I’ve seen finally get started with yoga, and soon after, make the body improvements that have eluded them for so long.

Yoga’s ability to help you lose excess weight and transform your body is real.  Yes, it can actually work for even you.  But it’s only going to work if you stop thinking and start doing.  Give yourself a shot to truly experience your full-potential and incorporate a yoga practice into your life today.  By starting with these five yoga lessons from Shauna, you’ll slowly gain confidence and appreciation for yoga, while simultaneously adding lean muscle mass and reducing your body fat.  Sounds like a win-win to me.

To get started, check out Shauna Harrison’s five-part Muscle & Flow yoga series and get on the road to a total body transformation.  The best part is, not only will you help yourself, you’re going to help others in need as 50% of proceeds are donated to the physical education program at Edgewood Elementary in Baltimore, MD.

