Paleo-Friendly Sweet Potato Pasta with Spinach-Almond Pesto


sweetpot

Before we even get in to today’s post, I’m going to give you one quick bit of advice.  If you’ve gone Paleo or are thinking about going Paleo, you’ve got to invest in one thing.  If you don’t want this one thing, you’re just a pretender.  Literally, this kitchen tool has been a savior for me, as I’ve reluctantly gotten on the Paleo bandwagon myself as of late.  Yes, yes….it was exactly a year ago that I tore Paleo apart (and received so many lovely, glowing comments as a result).  But you know what, I’ve seen a lot of great things over the past year, specifically amongst people who have had previous troubles losing weight. But I digress, let’s get back to what we’re here for today…

Instant, home made sweet potato noodles.
Instant, home made sweet potato noodles.

So what am I talking about?  I’m talking about a spiralizer.  What the hell is a spiralizer?  I’ll tell you what a spiralizer is.  A spiralizer will turn anything into noodles…or at least long strands that resemble noodles.  You jam a vegetable, fruit, whatever, into the spiky holder, press it against the blade, and twist the handle in a clock-wise manner.  Boom, before your eyes you’re creating homemade ________ pasta.  Seriously, for anyone who’s trying to get on board with the Paleo diet, you NEED a spiralizer.  It will change you.

Okay, so that’s all well and good, but let’s get down to the recipe.

As the title indicates, we’re going with sweet potato pasta today, so you’re going to need some sweet potatoes.  One large sweet potato made enough pasta for two people, but your mileage may vary.  Decide accordingly.  From there, it’s a matter of lightly boiling the sweet potato pasta, covering in homemade nut pesto (recipe to follow) and serving.  I got a little fancy and threw in some blackened shrimp to add a bit more protein and make this meal a little more substantial.  Feel free to top with whatever your heart desires.

The nut pesto was incredibly easy to make.  I threw 3-4 large handfuls of spinach into a blender, added two or so glugs of olive oil, a few garlic cloves, a handful of sliced almonds, squeeze of lemon, salt, pepper, basil, parsley, and another handful of parmesan.  I held down the puree button.  I took off the lid.  I poured into a bowl.  I was done with the pesto.  It really is that simple.

  • 1-2 sweet potato, spiralized

For pesto sauce:

  • 3-4 large handfuls fresh spinach
  • 1-2 heavy-handed pours olive oil
  • 2-3 cloves garlic
  • 1 handful almonds
  • 1 handful parmesan
  • juice of half a lemon
  • tablespoon dried basil
  • tablespoon dried parsley
  • salt and pepper to taste

 

 

