Transforming Training-Interview with Kayla Itsines


I was thrilled to chat with gorgeous Australian trainer Kayla Itsines for many reasons, but most importantly because she knows how to know the body. Aside from the insane body of her own, she has collected a website full of amazing success stories from clients around the world. Regardless of who you are or where you are coming from, Kayla considers you as a person, as an individual, as a client, from all angles which allows her to developed super personal and successful training programs. Women listen up because this girl knows how your body works. She has spent much of her practice refining the training methods to help women achieve both the strength and the confidence that we are continually working towards.

You won’t see any 30 day carrot diet here because she’s just not a fan of the fad diet BS. As far as the future goes, Kayla sees her training going online. With the huge success of her e-books she hopes to produce video tutorials and demonstrations so anyone can access her programming…we like your thinking Kayla!! The idea of getting more personal about your fitness is incredibly inspiring as Kayla explains what it takes to stay mindful of that whole motivation thing.

Screen_Shot_2014-05-14_at_2.40.44_pm

One of the most glaring aspects of Kayla’s training is the commitment to formulating a long-term change. She addresses the most important health and fitness issues by committing to understand what allows clients to feel actively engaged in their wellness, and as you have read in past posts, the whole motivation thing is much easier said than done.

Tell us a little about yourself
Hi, my name is Kayla and I am a twenty-three year old personal trainer from Australia. I specialize in training women and helping them achieve their goals whether they are appearance, health or confidence based. I love summer, the beach and travelling with my partner, Tobi, and hope to continue to grow as a person and be able to bring more information to women around the world.My fitness site can be found at http://www.kaylaitsines.com.au/

What is the core foundation behind all of the programming and business?
The goal of my bikini body guides is to bring confidence & health to women through exercise, healthy eating and lifestyle advice, in a motivating yet educational way. Whether this occurs through weight loss, increased muscle tone, fitness or even a change in mindset is irrelevant. Through science based information and user-friendly planning I aim to bring the amazing confidence that coincides with a bikini body, to every woman that desires it. With these guides I aim to steer clear of the “fads” in the industry and try to also answer a few questions that are regularly asked. These include questions about carbohydrate intake, types of cardio and lifting weights to not get bulky. My book isn’t about promoting an unrealistic ideology and this alone separates it from many. I try to take an educational approach to helping women achieve confidence from within, and an improved healthy lifestyle. Of course, through this process the girls lose fat, tone up and love the results they see both inside and out. I don’t promote a fad. Everything I state in the book if it is scientific, is referenced where possible. I feel this adds a certain validity to the information that lacks in many other online products.

See the amazing results her clients have achieved on the transformations page

Most effective training method(s)?
When asked what style of workout I recommend I stand quite strongly beside the fact that no single style of resistance training or cardio is perfect. With my own training and the training of my clients I like to include various styles of exercise ranging from body weight, high resistance, plyometric, LISS (low intensity steady state) and HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training).

Screen_Shot_2014-05-14_at_2.40.09_pm

What is the best combination to get the body you feel like you deserve?
It is good to have a range of exercise as it will provide you with a complete program. By incorporating multiple styles of training for women it is possible to streamline their results and get the end result sooner, easier and of course maintain it. I find maintenance is sometime the most difficult phase, so when creating a program it is good to make it sustainable. This in mind however I would have to say I really enjoy training ab circuits. This has been my favourite muscle group and training style for a long time, probably almost since I started training. There is nothing better than the feeling of sore abs from your workout yesterday.

How can you tell if you are working out too much?
Working out too much can sometimes make women feel tired or lethargic. It can also cause you to have trouble sleeping, a lack of sex drive and an irregular menstrual cycle.

Screen_Shot_2014-05-14_at_2.41.17_pm
What is the greatest obstacle that you personally have to overcome to be a better trainer?
The hardest thing I have had to realise is that you can not please everyone. I have learned to please people who want to be pleased.

What inspires you most in a client?
My mission is what inspires me. I have a dream to end confusion within the health and fitness industry. Fads and scams in this industry have created so much distrust and insecurity around weight-loss programs. I want all people to understand their body, have a place to learn about health and fitness and in turn feel confident & happy.

Best advice ever?
“Worry about the future, don’t worry about the now. You will get there, but something that will always come in between your now and your later is time.” My boyfriend, Tobi, actually said this to me after an operation I had for endometriosis. I was so ill and fatigued I couldn’t even sit up out of bed. I was so upset after going from working out a lot during the week to barely being able to roll over in bed. Not long after, I was well and truly back into it. I think sometimes people just want to rush everything in today’s society whether it’s weight loss, growing up or driving from A to B. Perhaps we all need to slow down and learn to experience change as it comes. It’s the change that happens over time that changes you as a person, not the difference between your before and after. The process and experience for me is greater than finishing first.

Worst fitness advice you have ever heard?
“If you are not losing weight fast enough, eat less and train more” is definitely the worst advice I have heard!

Biggest misconception about being healthy and fit?
More exercise = more results.Most people are under the illusion that you have to train twice a day, seven days a week and weigh all your food to the gram to get results. This could not be further from the truth. I have heard of many people increasing their training amount just because they weren’t getting any results.Over training and stressing your body will actually make it harder for you to lose weight. Both exercising for a long time in one session or exercising multiple times per day, every day, will raise your cortisol ( stress hormone ) levels and inhibit your bodies normal functions/reaction to training including hormone production, weight loss, & energy production. It is not as simple as calories in vs. energy out.

Your favorite quick easy workout?
My resistance training workouts are only 28 minutes long which makes it really easy to find time to workout. I have a free week of workouts which can be downloaded.

Best kept fitness secret?
Less = more.A lot of the time people try and go too hard, too fast. The biggest causes are too much training, restricting calories too far or even not resting enough. This typically results in an overload of stress that can heavily prevent weight loss. If your body is comfortable and not stressed it will act the way you want.  Basically if you over work your body and treat it poorly it won’t do what you want.My Social Media Links:

Facebook

Twitter

Tumblr

Instagram

Pinterest

One thought on “Transforming Training-Interview with Kayla Itsines”

Leave a Reply

