A Thank You Note to Newton


There’s a Newton Trainer for every size, shape and neon fetish via Instagram @KellyTurner26 http://instagram.com/p/aTw_ndlxaM

I’ve never really been a big runner. I like to tell people I’m made entirely up of “no-twitch” muscle fibers.* I did secretly always hold onto dreams of being one of those people that pounds out a solid 5 miles every morning before sunrise.

But, alas, every time I tried to go for a run, it lasted about 2 blocks before I quit. Despite the fact that my lungs always felt as if they would burst within the first 30 seconds, it just never felt natural to me. I could never fall into a rhythm. I always felt like each step was a concentrated struggle, a labored torture, if you will. “Just push past it,” they said. “It’s all in your head.”I still wouldn’t call myself a runner per se, (simply because I have the attention span of a raisin, bore easily, and prefer pumping iron to pounding pavement) but I can run a solid 5 miles, more on a good day, and I don’t even feel like killing myself halfway through. And for that, I credit Newton. Newton taught me how to run. Who is this miracle man Newton, you ask? (Or woman, you sexist creep). How did he turn me from a bumbling, gasping idiot into a graceful gazelle leaping over potholes without missing a step?

Well, Newtons are in fact, shoes. And while like any lady, I personify shoes with Christ-like powers to justify an insane price tag, these shoes really did teach me how to run.Newton’s are my favorite running shoes, hands down. If I am running under my own free will, you will see blindingly bright Newton Distance U’s laced onto my feet. Not only do they come in the most ridiculous, obnoxious color patterns that don’t match anything (which means they match everything) Newtons were the first time, and are the only time, I ever actually feel light on my feet.

newton actuation lugs

What makes Newtons such a good trainer is their built in technology. If you don’t care much, take a snooze and just believe me when I say they make running more natural and comfortable. If you like that stuff, read on:

The most unique aspect of Newtons are the actuator lugs. The lugs are little elevations under the metatarsal heads that expand outward to return energy. Most running shoes use “passive cushioning” like foam, gel or air that will flatten from your body weight over time, like a mattress or pillow, but these little guys spring back in a way you can feel with each step. I’m a shuffler, but I learned quickly to pick up my feet when I walk and run in these babies after tripping several times. The wear on the lugs also give you valuable insight into your stride. The lugs on your Newtons wear like tires letting your Newtons to double as running coach. They show you the friction wear patterns so you can adjust and improve your form.

Newtons also feature a biomechanical sensor plate. The foot senses the ground and sends a message to the brain to tell the muscles what to do. Most shoes block this communications, but Newtons welcome it, which allows you to stride more efficiently and with more stability. Newton Running shoes are also designed with a minimal “drop” between the height of the heel and the ball of the foot. A more even platform lends for a more natural running motion.

The shoe BOX even helps teach you to run. Each box contain Newton’s 10 Laws of Running Better. To get them all, you’ll have to grab your own Newtons, but here are 3 gems:

Proper fit. Standing with your heels pulled back to the end of the shoe, you should have 1 thumb width of space in front of your longest toe.

Good form. Relax, lean slightly forward and shorten your stride. Your foot will naturally land on your midfoot at a point under your hips. Keep a high cadence and your stride length short. Don’t run on your toes.

Land-lever-lift. Good running technique: land quietly in an athletic position with each footstrike under your hips; Lever off the front of the lugs; Lift your knee to begin a new stride. Do not push off or pull back with the toes.

Thanks, Newton. Your Coach of the Year award is in the mail.

* if you got that joke, then congratulations, you know your sh*t

2 thoughts on “A Thank You Note to Newton”

Leave a Reply

