3 Ways to Step Outside Your Comfort Zone This Week


Okay...you might not have to get THIS far out of your comfort zone...
Okay…you might not have to get THIS far out of your comfort zone…

Let’s face it, we all like being in our comfort zone. I mean, the actual definition of comfortable is “affording or enjoying contentment and security; free from stress, or tension” for crying out loud. Now, who doesn’t want some of that? And while I like to be warm, snug and comfy just as much as the next person, I’m starting to realize that perhaps I’ve been selling myself short for living/thinking this way.

They say life begins at the end of your comfort zone (as that’s where all the “magic” is) and now, as a mid-twenty-something “comfortable” entrepreneur I am finally beginning to see why. It’s like the light bulb finally went off and I thought B-I-N-G-O, now why haven’t I been doing this all along? 

This past month, I’ve been really trying to look at those areas where I’ve been playing it safe, and how I could live more “on the edge,” the edge of my comfort zone that is. After all, when you choose to take a risk and step into the area of the unknown, that’s where all the juicy transformation happens!

If you’d like to join me, here are 3 ways I’ve began to step outside my comfort zone (and how you can too):

1. Do Something That Scares The Crap Out Of You: This is going to be different for everyone, but for me this fear is PUBLIC SPEAKING. I can tweet day in and day out, publish articles, and work one-on-one with clients all day, but standing in front of a group of people, often times with a microphone? No thanks! So what did I do? I put myself out there and allowed these opportunities to come to me, without fear getting in the way. The results? I just co-hosted my first webinar last night, I agreed to do a series of community talks for women next month and will be hosting a month-long healthy living workshop during the fall. While I may have been scared out of my mind (and still am a little) I know these opportunities are what make us grow. Go ahead, do something that scares you a little.

2. Try Something Brand Spanking New: We get used to sticking with the plain old routine because, well, it’s comfortable. This week, I challenge you to try something new. Whether it’s experimenting with an ethnic cuisine, wearing bright coral when you’re normally a black-and-white kinda person or signing up for a new group-fitness class (like Zumba), breaking your usual pattern will enable you to learn, explore and grow. And hey, maybe you’ll discover a new passion along the way. Take a look at your own schedule, and pencil in one new activity or to-do for the week!

3. Say “See ya later” to Fear: Sure, sure, stepping outside your comfort zone is easier said than done especially when you’ve got fear screaming in your face. Trust me, I’ve totally been there and this is something I often battle with today! How many of you have had big, bold, juicy ideas that went no where because you thought, “What If?” You know the voices: “What if I fail?” “What if people don’t like it?” “What if I’m not good enough?” “What if it’s not perfect?” Well, that’s fear talking, my friend! Next time fear starts holding you back, acknowledge your thoughts (without judgement) and then gently push them aside. Think about it for a moment…what would you be doing if you didn’t let fear get in the way?

Do you typically play it safe in life? What’s one thing you can do this week to take a step outside your comfort zone? Share below! 

 

Leave a Reply

