Scrumptious Post-Workout Peanut Butter Balls, the P.K. Way


Couldn't resist including this photo. I mean, how often is it you capture the shadow of a peanut butter ball?

If you’ve caught some of my recent posts here at Share It Fitness, you know that I’m running the Boston Marathon on Monday, April 15. It’s four days left ’til the big day, and I’m just $913 away from my “$10K by Race Day” fundraising goal to fight cancer. (More here.) Perhaps not surprisingly, my last few articles have focused on foods with the athlete in mind, specifically on carbohydrate-rich favorites like oatmeal, pasta and granola.

As my training comes to a close, today I’m thinking less about pre-workout carbs and more about post-workout protein. Happily, this also provides an opportunity to revisit something I know people over here love: peanut butter. I get it, believe me. It’s a good thing peanut butter is so healthy, because I’m an addict. Alongside oatmeal, pb on whole grain toast is one of my go-to breakfasts and to this day my article discussing my obsession with peanut butter remains my most popular.

Peanut butter is also a favorite among fitness enthusiasts, hence today’s recipe. While I certainly have a few protein bars that I enjoy in a pinch, I had so much fun creating my own version of a protein-packed snack that provides muscles the energy they need to recover and grow. My version also includes other nutrient-rich favorites like hemp and flax seeds, oats, raisins, peanuts, and even a little dark chocolate. And, per the title, they are indeed scrumptious.

To learn more and get the recipe, click here.

And thanks for reading!

 

 

Leave a Reply

