Peanut Butter: Get Your Facts (and Fats) Straight


In honor of National Peanut Butter day, which was earlier this month, we’re bringing you this piece by Dr. P.K. Newby.  Dr. Newby will be bringing her unique and interesting take on food and nutrition to Share It Fitness as one of our regular contributors.  Her wealth of knowledge and experience allows her to give a very informed opinion on the dietary concerns a lot of you guys have….certainly more so than I can!  To learn a bit more about her, check out her bio found on her blog. 

 

 

Why peanut butter?

I love peanut butter. Not like I love divine lobster bisque or decadent chocolate brownies, of course, which are infrequent treats that are not a part of my usual diet.  On the other hand, peanut butter is creamy, delicious, satisfying, and good for you, so it actually can be a part of your regular repertoire.  An almost-daily pleasure for me. I even keep a jar at my office alongside a loaf of whole grain bread, and peanut butter on toast is a frequent late morning breakfast or early afternoon snack at work.  Incidentally, I recently learned that my colleagues and research assistants apparently find my affection for peanut butter on toast rather amusing.  Yes it’s true, you might often hear me say  “Wait, I just need to make myself a piece of toast!” if you try to drag me into a mind-numbing meeting, but I still fail to see why this is funny.  It’s not like I’m neurotic about it or anything placing exactly one piece of bread in the toaster until it’s the perfect level of crisp brownness, lovingly spreading the succulent butter on the hot toast, waiting until it melts perfectly, and then carefully cutting it in half. I just like it, that’s all.  Can’t a girl eat her peanut butter in peace? Geesh.

Anyhow, writing about peanut butter is a good chance to highlight the nutrition facts about something so many people love and some people fear. (Not in a healthy, “I have a peanut allergy and don’t want to die” sort of way, but an irrational belief based on nutrition misunderstandings or misinformation.)  Hence today’s Top Ten Peanut Butter Facts below…

…read the full article HERE on Play a Good Knife and Fork.

5 thoughts on “Peanut Butter: Get Your Facts (and Fats) Straight”

  1. Thanks so much for the shout out, Matt! Thrilled to be part of the team here at Share It Fitness as we all journey towards better health! I’m as passionate about fitness as I am about food. Well, almost … 😉

  2. Are you my long lost twin? I LOVE PEANUT BUTTER TOO!!! And I eat my organic naturaly peanut butter daily!
    Try a healthy teaspoonful of peanut butter in plain Greek yogurt with a scoop of vanilla or chocolate protein powder. Eat it like that or add half a banana (banana cream pudding like), or a 1/4 cup of your favorite healthy granola (best in the vanilla version).
    I don’t know if I could ever give up my peanut butter~~!!
    Thanks for the blog!

    1. 🙂 Guess what I just finished eating? Peanut butter on whole wheat toast with banana! Totally serious. That said, I was mentioning on my FB page last week that I decided to start seeing other nut butters. I just added an almond butter with roasted flax seeds to my repertoire, which packs a serious nutritional punch as well. All nut butters are really healthy, which is great for people for peanut allergies. Thanks for reading :).

  3. Thanks so much for the shout out, Matt! Thrilled to be part of the team here at Share It Fitness as we all journey towards better health! I’m as passionate about fitness as I am about food. Well, almost … 😉

Leave a Reply

